St Helens and Knowsley Teaching HospitalsNHS Trust


The Equality Act 2010

The Equality Act 2010 (the Act) came into force on 1 October 2010.

The Act is intended to simplify, harmonise and strengthen the old discrimination legislation. The following will be repealed in their entirety:

· Equal Pay Act 1970,

· Sex Discrimination Act 1975,

· Race Relations Act 1976,

· Disability Discrimination Act 1995.

Much of the following will also be replaced:

· Equality Act 2006,

· Employment Equality (Religion or Belief) Regulations 2003,

· Employment Equality (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2003,

· Employment Equality (Age) Regulations 2006, and

· Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2007.

The Act introduces the new terminology of “protected characteristics” to which it then applies in a consistent way the traditional elements of direct discrimination, indirect discrimination, victimisation and harassment.

The protected characteristics are: - age; disability; gender reassignment; marriage and civil partnership; pregnancy and maternity; race; religion or belief; sex; and sexual orientation.

Further information about the Act (including a range of “good practice” guides) can be obtained from the below links.

Equality and Human Rights Commission

Government Equalities Office

Advisory Conciliation and Arbitration Service

You may also contact Annette Craghill, Patient & Workforce Equality Lead
on 0151 478 7609 or email

St Helens & Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust is not responsible for the content of External Internet Sites