About Us

​​​The Anaesthetic Department is one of the largest in the Trust.

Providing anaesthesia for approximately 25,000 patients each year.

The department provides anaesthetic services for elective and emergency surgery for: General Surgery, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Burns Surgery, Urology, ENT, Ophthalmology, Orthopaedic Surgery and, Obstetrics and Gynaecology.

Outside of the operating theatres it provides a broad range of services throughout the hospital. Services include

  • The assessment of patient pre-operatively.
  • Anaesthetic cover for the Accident and Emergency Department, including the Major Trauma Team.
  • A 24 hour epidural service to provide analgesia during labour.
  • A consultant based Pain Service for acute and chronic pain.

The department provides 24 hour cover for surgical emergencies, maternity services, the accident and emergency department, critical care and the medical emergencies team

Go back to the top
Senior Team Members

​Directorate Manager: Anaesthesia, Theatres and Decontamination                                    - John Clayton

Clinical Director                        Dr. Desmond Atherton

Deputy Clinical Director            Dr. Samantha Pedder

Consultants       Dr. Edmund Whelan
Dr. Vivienne Margaret Nelson
Dr. Stephen Mark Raftery
Dr. Terence Hankin
Dr. George Yousef Saleh Saba
Dr. Konstantin Anatolevich Levshankov
Dr. Yick-Meng Andrew Wong
Dr. Scott Alexander David Miller
Dr. Helen Alexandra Binns
Dr. John Magnus King
Dr. Sanjay Behl
Dr. Maria Araba Enyvia Akrofi
Dr. Tushar Dinkar Mahambrey
Dr. Sonia Princy De Silva
Dr. Roger Michael Halden Moss
Dr. Caroline Carmel Anne Smyth
Dr. Janet Susan Slee
Dr. Preeti Manoj Kuduvalli
Dr. Kevin James Sim
Dr. Paul Jeanrenaud
Dr. Claire Louise Athwal
Dr. Shameem Abdul Jameel
Dr. Peter Francis Yoxall
Dr. Sandra Kay Fisher
Dr. Catherine Mary Glennon
Dr. Karim Mohammed Sami Mukhtar
Dr. Rana Waits
Dr. Catherine Anna Gerrard
Dr. Archana Senathirajah
Dr. Zaherali Bandali Damani
Dr. Akshaya Kumar Saggar
Dr. Suganthi Devi Singaravelu
Dr. Senthil Narayanan Jayaseelan
Dr. Tushar Arun Dixit
Dr. Andrew James Bonnett
Dr. Rashmi Khirwadkar
Dr. Vandana Goel

Go back to the top

​Whiston Hospital 4th Floor, Orange Zone

Go back to the top
Contact Us

​The Department of Anaesthesia  - 0151 430 1267/1268

Go back to the top
Other Information

​Relevant websites /​

Go back to the top
Latest Update

Go back to the top


Patients are eligible for free NHS treatment at St Helens and Knowsley Teaching hospitals NHS Trust if they are: Ordinarily resident in the UK or: Overseas visitors, but entitled to free NHS services under the National Health Service (Charges to Overseas Visitors) Regulations

Sign In